5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Dont laugh at a rookie....

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2004, 06:12 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Dont laugh at a rookie....

I am pretty new at performance mod's and need a little help. I don't have a big budget right now (getting married next April), but I sure would add a little more kick behind those 222 horses. I have added a K & N but can't really tell a difference. What are some cheap mod's that I could begin with that would provide a noticable increase in power and performance? Mod/Brand/Price please !!!
Old 07-30-2004, 06:23 PM
Mauja He Mauja

first off, don't post a new thread twice. mods will come later
Old 07-30-2004, 06:28 PM

y-pipe from any company pretty much... its one of best mods for the price. getting an intake makes a nice sound, not much for power though.... for intakes, you can get injen cold air which is kinda ironic cuz it sits behind the radiator.... go figure... place racing cold air intake is supposedley a true cold air cuz it goes somewhere else, but requires cutting a little bit of metal.... and some other warm air intake brands, but cant recall any of em.... frankencar? im not sure, as for me, i have a warpseed y-pipe and injen cold air. underdrive pulley comin next.
Old 07-30-2004, 06:33 PM
retired moderator

to be honest, the first thing you should do is get a Rear Sway Bar. It doesn't add hp, but it drastically improves the car's handling (especially if you have the soft GLE springs).

I consider the RSB the #1 first thing to get....Intake and Y-pipe make some difference, but not nearly as much as the RSB - which will really make you enjoy cornering alot more and reduce the sloppy maxima body roll (which I imagine is even worse on your GLE than on my SE, which has stiffer springs).

As to engine.....same as above:
Y-pipe (Warpspeed, Cattman, Stillen, etc...)
Intake (Place Racing, Injen, Berk, Frankencar, etc.)