5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Bose radio or not?

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2005, 08:58 PM

Bose radio or not?

Man, I know I'm gonna get reamed for this one. lol. First of all, I'm a newb as I'm sure you have already figured that out with my question. And yes, I've searched and searched hoping someone had asked the same dumb question, but to no avail. Anyway, I just bought a 2000 Maxima SE which has a tape deck and cd player. I am wondering if it is a Bose or not, I would think if it was it would be on it somewhere, but I can't find it. Is Bose standard or is it an option? All I know is I gotta do something as it sounds like crap right now. Can't wait to get my system in. I have at least found the thread on installing amps. And I'm sure glad I found the glossary. I find myself referring to it frequently......
Old 02-04-2005, 09:39 PM

First of all, pray that it is NOT Bose.

Second, I'm pretty sure it isn't Bose. Here's how you tell. Do you have a speaker on the rear deck ('dashboard' behind the rear seats)? If you do, then you probably have Bose. My 2000 GXE didnt have Bose and it was 6 speakers. One in each door and one tweeter in each A pillar up front. If that's what your's looks like then you're in luck. Bose is tough to get out because you can't really use the stock wiring due to individual amps for each Bose speaker. Anyway, if you have any questions putting your system in, I did everything in mine in the last 3 months. 6 speakers, head unit, changer, new wiring. Everything but amps and subs. Let me know, good luck.
Old 02-04-2005, 09:41 PM