5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Is this normal (5.5 gen, 6-speed)?

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2007, 07:17 AM

Is this normal (5.5 gen, 6-speed)?

When in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd gear I let off the gas even while driving slowly the engine brakes kinda hard and that seems to be normal for most cars with manual transmission (although not all manuals are the same).
However, this happens in 4th and sometimes even 5th gear. I think only in 6th I don't feel the engine braking hard. It's driving me nuts! I have a lot of meandering roads in my neighborhood so I have to stay in 2nd or 3rd until I get to the main road. There is just no way I can let off the gas without shaking up my passangers, no matter how slowly I do it. Note: I am not a newb with manual transmissions (about 15 years) and I have been driving this car for about 10 months every day, so I am used to how the car drives. I've driven many different manual cars but this one seems impossible to drive smoothly.
Is this normal or is there something wrong with my car?
Old 07-16-2007, 07:20 AM
Custom User Title

Not sure if that's normal or not, but I would try driving another 6spd to see if it does the same thing or not.
Old 07-16-2007, 07:32 AM

normal unfortunatly , mine feels like theres play in hte mounts so i am going to try some solid es motor mounts to help.

the 5.5 6spd is one of hte hardest stick to drive smoothly from what everyone says
Old 07-16-2007, 07:42 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

you need new motor mounts.
When you left off any ANY GEAR the engine lets the rpms down a lil, the mounts hold it motor inplace so you dont feel those rpms dropping.. your mounts are ****, so you feel it alot more.
Old 07-16-2007, 08:03 AM