5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Sunroof operation problem, I have searched

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2010, 12:22 PM

Sunroof operation problem, I have searched

Hey all, I seem to have a problem with my sunroof, well actually its the buttons that control it. Yesterday after a whole day full of rain i decided to open it because the weather started to loook better, when I pressed on the Slide open button the sunroof proceeded to move about 2 inches and stop. Now this happens both during closing and opening and when i press for complete open or close. Now thats wierd in itself, so i decided to see if it still Tilted up and down, so pressing the Tilt button I tilited it upwards and then down without a problem, but i pressed the Tilt button again to make sure i was closed and it started to Slide open my sunroof. I was like WTF?!?! so i started playing around with all the buttons, and to my surprise, both switches, Slide and Tilt, now perform the exact same function of sliding (~2inches and then stopping) and tilting the sun roof up and down. When i searched i couldnt really find a problem like mine, and when i tried to follow the reset protocol that others have posted nothing happened ? but perhaps i am pressing the wrong switch, so could anyone explain it better ?

BTW car is a 01 I30 , but the I30 section doesnt get near as much attention as this place, so i figured I'd ask here, because I am assuming it is exactly the same.

Thanks alot guys.
Old 07-26-2010, 12:57 PM
Cletus

sounds like the buttons are bad
Old 07-26-2010, 01:35 PM

thats exactly the problem I have. the sun roof moves perfectly, but its like the contacts are dirty in the switch and it looses signal. It will always open and close and tilt, but you just have to keep pressing the buttons. I plan on removing the controls and checking the contacts
Old 07-26-2010, 05:27 PM