5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Fixing a Saggy bumper w/ Pics

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2015, 08:15 PM

Fixing a Saggy bumper w/ Pics

I've had a bumper sag on my passenger side for a while. I have some pictures.

I know the lighting isn't the best, so I will explain. The first tab on the left closest to the wheel looks like it's being pulled down from the fender where it connects, but the tab to the right I noticed has completely lost connection from above, and is just hanging onto the bumper. I can push the bumper up, and I notice the tab just falls back down. This is the part that is making the bumper sag.

I'm wondering what the best route to repair this would be. It's one of those things that's really only noticeable to the driver, but I'm tired of this sagging.

I'm not good with repairs and have only a tiny bit of experience when it comes to body repair, but I'd like to give it a go if I can without taking it to the body shop since this is my only car. I don't want to take off the bumper in fear of not being able to put it back on, unless I know what to look for.

I've searched for help here many times, but it seems there are no clear answers, and I may have some pieces I could be in need of replacing. Again, I have little experience in order to tackle this on my own, but if anyone could share some advice, I'd be willing to order parts, and/or give it a go on my own.

I appreciate any help!
Old 07-16-2015, 09:40 PM

Take it to a bodyshop and get a quote?

My go to shop didn't even charge their hourly rate to fix it and the sag has been gone for over 2 years now
Old 07-16-2015, 10:19 PM

Remove these plastic rivets and get to the two holes, you can see one in in your bottom two pics, theirs another on top of that one that holds them with A bolt or nut so you can tighten them together....tight fit but not rocket science