5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Let's talk Rebuilds vs Swaps

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2017, 08:03 AM

Let's talk Rebuilds vs Swaps

So let's start off. I've got a 2001 SE Anniversary Edition 5-Speed.
My crank seal is leaking and it's gotta get replaced. To do this is a ......not fun job. You've gotta pull the engine because an inboard rebuild in this car isn't really feasible and I can't just leave my car parked at work.

I should state that I'm a heavy duty mechanic and I'm gonna be working on it over the weekends as I'm currently working right now and have crap all to do.
So bored.

So Rebuilds: Who's done what? I'm not looking to go insane here. I want to go more mild than wild as it's a daily driver. If I go this route I'm going to be purchasing an engine from a yard and I'll throw it on an engine stand and do the rebuild that way.

So Swaps: Does the 3.5 fit in nicely? What's the electrical swap like? Any other engines that people have put in?

I need this info before I make a plan. I've gotta calculate costs vs time.

Once all that is figured out, I've gotta go over budget stuff with my gf and see what we can realistically afford. I'm a grown man so I can no longer justify spending insane amounts of money on my cars for fun. Sad truth.

Any input and connecting links is greatly appreciated.
Old 07-16-2017, 09:47 AM

The 3.5 go in but many guys use the 3.0 timing, you can also do an HR (high rev) swap, 08 and newer Altima motor and 09 and newer Maxima motor. Check out nisformance and m4dsc.com also get on facebook this site is pretty much dead.
Old 07-16-2017, 03:28 PM

Rebuilds are very simple and cheaper then you might think.
if you want to do it the best way get it cleaned and honed it was like $50 they
tanked it and honed it on a cnc. The head was like $70 they shaved it put in new seals and ****. Put in a cam I brought them.