5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Looking for Reasonable Labor Costs - CV Drive Axles

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2019, 02:13 PM

Looking for Reasonable Labor Costs - CV Drive Axles

Hello good people!

I am still new to this page so, please treat me with kid gloves until I learn more about my 2000 Nissan Maxima GLE. As some of you know that I bought it a little over two weeks ago and all it needs is both CV Drive Axles. Looking at various Videos from 1A AUTO Parts, the need to take partially down the Lower Control Arms is mandatory as you will not be able to remove and replace the CV Drive Axles. Since you have to almost remove the Lower Control Arms, I am willing to replace those as well.

Here's my introduction post:
https://maxima.org/forums/5th-genera...ml#post9209908

I am shopping around for the best labor deal and the two Pro Shops that I have been to almost always giving me two separate estimate line items. One for Drive Axles work and a totally separate estimate line item for the Lower Control Arms! I mean the Lower Control Arms need to be lowered and they will be hanging by the one rear bolt that contains the ball joint. My questions "IS" is it reasonable for a Pro Shop to charge me almost double on separate line items? I am willing to pay a little more so, both Lower Control Arms are completely removed and replaced but, double is perhaps highway robbery to me.

What Say you?

Here's the Video:

Last edited by guapoman2000; 09-25-2019 at 02:32 PM.
Old 09-25-2019, 03:12 PM
Bad *** Newb

You do not touch control arms. They're lying (or maybe just stupid) to squeeze more money. Unbolt strut and tie rod, that's it.

And, no, it's not reasonable, b/c even if you needed to do that, a control arm is loosened in 60 secs (it's on a lift, so stupid easy to do everything). They want to **** you over.

Find a small shop with good reviews or a local member.