Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

High Output alternator for a 91 max

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2002, 11:26 AM

High Output alternator for a 91 max

I'm lookint for a high output alternator for a 91 Maxima and am having a hard time finding anything. A lot of the aftermarket companies don't seem to service Nissans, and I have no experience fabricating brackets. Anyone have any advise? I need to replace the alternator anyway so I don't really want to go with a two battery set up.
Old 07-27-2002, 12:40 AM
jmax

I am fairly sure that the engine in the 91 is mounted pretty much the same way as in the 4th gen. In which case the custom bracket is pretty simple. Could be done with a drill and a file if no better tools were available. Just a matter of making the old bracket work for the new alternator that needs to be rotated up a few degrees. But a high output alt really is not needed in the maxima until you go well over 2000 watts RMS. A capacitor will provide enough voltage during musical peaks. But you do need to wire your car properly. Poor wiring can kill a battery / alternator. Using too small of wire will not allow the voltage to pass as easilly, it has higher resistance. The voltage drops, and in order to get the same wattage, amperage goes up. Basically everything in the electrical chain gets hot and problems can start.

Old 07-27-2002, 03:19 AM

Re: High Output alternator for a 91 max

Originally posted by Menace
I'm lookint for a high output alternator for a 91 Maxima and am having a hard time finding anything. A lot of the aftermarket companies don't seem to service Nissans, and I have no experience fabricating brackets. Anyone have any advise? I need to replace the alternator anyway so I don't really want to go with a two battery set up.