Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

subwoofer box and plywood

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2002 | 09:22 PM

subwoofer box and plywood

Has anyone every built a sub box using plywood? I know MDF is the material of choice, but it is a pain in the butt to work with. I live in an apartment and i don't have access to heavy duty cutters. I have a buddy who's used 3/4" plywood and he's been very happy with it. This is my first project like this, so i'm wondering what some of you all might think.

thanks!
Old 10-06-2002 | 09:28 PM

Re: subwoofer box and plywood

Originally posted by mango95se
Has anyone every built a sub box using plywood? I know MDF is the material of choice, but it is a pain in the butt to work with. I live in an apartment and i don't have access to heavy duty cutters. I have a buddy who's used 3/4" plywood and he's been very happy with it. This is my first project like this, so i'm wondering what some of you all might think.

thanks!
Use particle board...you will be glad you did! Plywood sounds like crap, dont use it....
Old 10-07-2002 | 08:16 AM
rilla dope

You only really have 2 options in my opinion. LDF or MDF, I've used both and I prefer the MDF, but LDF is fine too, it just chips easily and won't hold a screw in the same place twice. It has decent resonance qualities for larger subs, but with the 10s I have now, I'd only go 3/4" MDF all the way, well, that and the fiberglass I have to to use in my spare well
Old 10-07-2002 | 08:20 AM

Sorry, but particle board and ldf are NOT suitable for subwoofer boxes. SOME plywood is suitable tho, provided that it is Baltic Birch, or regular Birch, and is 5 or 7 ply (preferably 7).

MDF is a pain to work with, and I refuse to use it any more. It splits out when you drill into the end of it, so I will no longer use it. So far, I've had great luck from the Birch, but plan on finding some Baltic Birch to try soon.

Eric