Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

One more ? for those with multiple amps

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2000, 08:12 PM
Say Candyman 5 times

For those who are using a seperate amp for your highs, mids and bass. Or those who have their speakers running of a amp and not the head unit. My question, what did you do with the speaker wires from the head unit? This may be a simple question/answer for some, but I'm a novice when it comes to audio mods.
Old 12-27-2000, 09:10 PM
jmax

Wrap the bair ends with electrical tape and tie them off with a wire tie, rubber band, velcro tie or whatever.

Old 12-27-2000, 09:19 PM

question...

does the headunit still think that it is powering four speakers even if they are connected? couldn't you save power if you could somehow disable the headunit output?
Old 12-27-2000, 09:30 PM
jmax

I think the headunit has a 10 amp fuse so disabling the built in amp, while it would be ideal, would not increase total system efficiency significantly. It is a small piece in the puzzle.

Old 12-27-2000, 11:30 PM
mting

if you run the seperate amps to the tweets/ midbass. then you are losing your crossover which means sound is going to go sounds that were meant for the midbass is goign to go to the tweeters and that's going to hurt if not blow out the speaker. I only recommend this if you are going to custom make a crossover. the good thing about this is more power and you can control the power going to the tweet/ midbass.

Old 12-27-2000, 11:56 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

I wouldn't be too concerned about running a seperate amp for the Mids and Highs. . . If you get quality speakers, the crossovers that come with the speakers should handle inputs from both amps (My Quart xovers do at least).