The BOSE Radio/Speaker Replacement thread - Page 30 - Maxima Forums



Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

The BOSE Radio/Speaker Replacement thread

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2016, 05:53 PM   #1161  
Suspension Yoda
iTrader: (89)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 13,501
You can, with some creative wiring
djfrestyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 08:10 PM   #1162  
Addicted to the Org
iTrader: (16)
 
maximized98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,534
I have a couple of questions. I am going to replace the bose head unit in my 02. I already have the 70-7551

1. I have been reading that I still might need a LOC to go along with the 7551. Is this true?

2. Would it be beneficial to go ahead and get one, or would it not make any difference?

Some people have experienced low volume levels after swapping to an aftermarket HU
maximized98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 06:01 AM   #1163  
Suspension Yoda
iTrader: (89)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 13,501
It depends completely on the preout voltage of the HU you pick.

1. Yes
2. It can be used even if you don't need one. So if you go ahead and get one and use it regardless, it causes no harm - just a few extra bucks spent unnecessarily.
djfrestyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 06:14 AM   #1164  
Addicted to the Org
iTrader: (16)
 
maximized98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,534
Thank you. What LOC would you recommend?


Quote:
Originally Posted by djfrestyl View Post
It depends completely on the preout voltage of the HU you pick.

1. Yes
2. It can be used even if you don't need one. So if you go ahead and get one and use it regardless, it causes no harm - just a few extra bucks spent unnecessarily.
maximized98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 06:37 AM   #1165  
Suspension Yoda
iTrader: (89)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 13,501
Scosche SLC4 does the trick.
djfrestyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 07:32 AM   #1166  
Addicted to the Org
iTrader: (16)
 
maximized98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,534
I have never used one before. So this gets wired between the aftermarket HU and the 7551??

I was looking at pictures of the SLC-4 and I'm a little confused
maximized98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 07:35 AM   #1167  
Suspension Yoda
iTrader: (89)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 13,501
Head Unit -> Speaker Level Outputs -> Speaker level inputs on LOC -> RCA outputs on LOC -> RCA inputs on 70-7551 -> Car harness
djfrestyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 07:58 AM   #1168  
Addicted to the Org
iTrader: (16)
 
maximized98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,534
You are the man
maximized98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 06:11 PM   #1169  
Newbie - Just Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 11
Hey guys, hope this is the right place to ask.

I'm looking to get an aux/BT input to my car (2000 max with Bose+sub) and it seems like the best way to do that is to replace the head unit. I've done a handful of car audio stuff so it shouldn't be too hard but I had a question.

What inputs does the amp have? Just front and rear, or front, rear, and dedicated sub? I can get a cheap 4 channel output head unit for $60 but one with a dedicated sub output is much more.
jtbask11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 03:55 PM   #1170  
Newbie - Just Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 11
Does anybody know the answer to my previous post? I tried searching but I couldn't find much. Thanks
jtbask11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 11:37 PM   #1171  
Licensed to Spell
iTrader: (12)
 
ptatohed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Murrieta (southern California)
Posts: 4,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbask11 View Post
Does anybody know the answer to my previous post? I tried searching but I couldn't find much. Thanks
jt, how about one of those blue tooth kits for OEM stereos?

https://www.crutchfield.com/g_356850...jn&subid=43737
ptatohed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 09:43 AM   #1172  
Newbie - Just Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 11
Good idea, but the one there is $170. I can buy an aftermarket 4 channel head unit with bluetooth for $60. I bought the car for $600 so I'd like to keep this as cheap as possible.

Do I need just a regular 4 channel output or do I need 4 channel and subwoofer?
jtbask11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 05:21 PM   #1173  
Newbie - Just Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 15
I have a headunit without preamp outputs I want to install and the 7551 harness.
Can I make this work?
Karim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 05:21 PM   #1174  
Newbie - Just Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbask11 View Post
Good idea, but the one there is $170. I can buy an aftermarket 4 channel head unit with bluetooth for $60. I bought the car for $600 so I'd like to keep this as cheap as possible.

Do I need just a regular 4 channel output or do I need 4 channel and subwoofer?
There is no sub in the car.
Karim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 04:01 PM   #1175  
Newbie - Just Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karim View Post
There is no sub in the car.
There is a subwoofer in the BOSE sound system, it's in the rear behind the seats.

As for your question with the 7551 harness you can cut off the RCA connectors and wire the speaker level outputs from your head unit to them. I'd recommend soldering and heat shrink, just as with any electrical connection.

The solution I went with was to buy a cheap ($60) head unit with 4 channel RCA outputs and the Crutchfield kit for the car. It came with the 7551 harness, a faceplate, and a speaker to line level converter. I followed all the directions and it actually sounds pretty good, having bluetooth in the car is nice.

Answering my original question, the subwoofer is tied with the rear speakers, so only a 4 channel output is needed. My sub was actually not functioning, but bypassing the crossover fixed it.
jtbask11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 12:43 PM   #1176  
Newbie - Just Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 15
That's what I ended up doing. I'm actually midway through the install. The HU works great but the 7417 dash kit doesn't seem to work for this..
Karim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 09:43 PM   #1177  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 75
Subs

I have the Bose system in my 2014, I want to install two subwoofers I need a little more kick. I have been told if you have a Bose system its impossible. Is that true and if it is I am o.k. with that but I need some base with my music its driving me nuts.
Nissanfinatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 11:17 PM   #1178  
Newbie - Just Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 15
Karim is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ID 4 Bose door speakers MikesChevelle Audio/Video/Electronics 1 09-11-2016 06:36 PM
Amp/Speakers to Replace Stock BOSE melteye 5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) 12 05-16-2016 12:02 AM
KY 99 Bose HU and speakers jerrod99_se-l 4th Generation Classifieds (1995-1999) 2 08-27-2015 08:27 PM
NJ FS: Bose amplifier 2000-2003 Maxima I35 6spd4dsc 5th Generation Classifieds (2000-2003) 0 08-27-2015 07:56 AM
Someone please help! No radio! Maxinesdaddy 6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) 1 08-21-2015 11:43 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.