Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Where is the best website/company to buy an Optima yellow top battery?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2010, 05:49 PM
2003 Nisan Maxima

Where is the best website/company to buy an Optima yellow top battery?

As title says. My battery on my Maxima finally died after 7 years. Looking to upgrade and was curious if you guys knew of any good deals on the worldwide intraweb? Trying to save as much loot as possible.
Old 10-06-2010, 08:00 PM

Last time I worked in the industry, there's wasn't a lot of markup on those things, so I'd start working my social circles and see if I knew someone who can get an employee discount!

So you're going Yellow Top under the hood? I thought that Red Top was for under the hood?

Last edited by ekrunch; 10-06-2010 at 08:10 PM.
Old 10-06-2010, 08:06 PM
2003 Nisan Maxima

^^I thought they were both for under the hood?
Old 10-06-2010, 08:56 PM

It was my understanding that the Yellow Top is a Deep Cycle battery, designed to be run almost dead if needed. Great for a rear battery for the audio nuts like myself. I thought the Red Top was more suited for the requirements of starting the car.

Looks like I'm wrong though. It's been a while since I've worked in the industry. I just checked the web site and the Yellow Top is now listed as a Dual Purpose battery including starting. The tagline is that it's "perfect for modern accessory loaded vehicles." Sounds like a good fit for a Maxima! The Red Top is listed as a starting only battery now. Interesting. We always ran Red Top under the hood and Yellow Top in the back.

Well, learn something new every day I suppose.
Old 10-06-2010, 08:58 PM
2003 Nisan Maxima

back to topic please.

anyone know of any better sites then ebay??
Old 10-07-2010, 03:40 AM
Banned