Fluids and Lubricants Motor oil, transmission oil, radiator fluid, power steering fluid, blinker fluid... wait, there is no blinker fluid. Technical discussion and analysis of the different lubricants we use in our cars.

opinions on new M1 synth.. 15K?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2005, 12:59 PM

opinions on new M1 synth.. 15K?

Well for those who haven't read a single auto mag or watched a car show lately, Mobil one has come out with a new synthetic that is "guaranteed" to hold its quality for 15,000 miles. I am skeptic about 15K, but have been using M1 syth for the last 2yrs/27,500 miles. I typically use a 4500-6000 mile interval with a m1 filter and the oil comes out black. Although the oil is black, it doesnt mean that the oil is bad. As a pilot I know that on airplane engines after an oil change the oil will be black again in one hour or less- this is a semi-synthetic oil. I drive about 16K miles a year and am wanting to go to a 8K mile/6 month interval. What does everyone else think about this "new" oil.
Old 03-21-2005, 01:01 PM

Im sticking with my Amsoil. But,
Old 03-21-2005, 01:34 PM
350 Detroit Muscle

Amsoil can last for that long too but you really should replace filter at least once.
Old 03-21-2005, 01:39 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

This is the first I've heard of a 15k number. I typically do 5k on Mobil1 SuperSyn. I wouldn't be comfortable going much farther than 7500 on the same filter, even if the oil claimed 15k.
Old 03-21-2005, 01:40 PM

Yea, I know of Amsoil's claims for longevity, but I still replace my oil and filter every 5K too.
Old 03-21-2005, 01:42 PM

my 03 Saab 9-3 Vector goes 15k without an oil change. and i dont replace the filter between oil changes. it uses Mobil 1
Old 03-21-2005, 02:08 PM
vsamoylov

i try to change my oil at what nissan said and that is 3750 miles. i use modil 1 with a oem filter. but if you do use that oil, you have to replace your filter at least once before you change the oil. am i right?