General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Clutch problem, Need Help! Long...

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2003, 09:11 PM
'Trynna' is not a word

ERRR, Damn thing didn't post. Here it is...

Two weeks ago I installed a Exedy Stage one clutch (not the ebay clutch), and Fidanza Flywheel. This is the third clutch Ive installed on a Maxima, so I have some experience. I thouroughly cleaned the flywheel surface and the pressure plate surface before the installation. I used a new pilot and throwout bearing, and greased everything correctly. I had no leaks on my main seal. I noticed right away that the clutch pedal felt REALLY soft, even compared with the crappy Valco clutch that was in there before, I mean REALLY SOFT! Almost like a Honduh clutch. I drove it easy for the first 400 miles or so, never had any clutch chatter. The clutch engages really close to the floor, but its easy to modulate once you get used to it. A couple days ago, I noticed that if I let off the gas completely in 4th gear, and then floored it, it felt like the clutch was slipping. There was no rise in RPM, it just felt like it wasn't catching for a second. I tried shifting a little hard into 5th, and felt it slip there as well. Today I bled the entire clutch system at both the upper port and the slave cylinder. I took it out for a test drive, running it to 6k rpm in 1st and second with no slippage, but it still does the same thing with 4th and 5th, and sometimes 3rd. I'm really pi$$ed because I don't want to pull my tranny again or buy a new clutch, not after all the work I put into this one. Anyone have any ideas? Only thing I can think of is to pull the tranny and do a visual, or order an ACT. PLEASE HELP!!!
Old 07-11-2003, 07:13 AM