4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

side molding removal

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2005, 06:46 PM

side molding removal

i know this sounds like a noob question, but i am a 4th gen noob. i had thought there was no indentation/holes under the side moldings on all 4th gens, but i took one off today and i had holes and and an indentation, as well as the body line underneath. is this the way they all are. i thought i had seen some people with them removed, but the cars always looked stock, so i didnt think twice about there being holes there. i looked through the faq's and mod lists, and although there were 4 or 5 different intake threads and doorpilar tape removal threads, there were none on the moldings.

thanks in advance -juan
Old 05-05-2005, 07:08 PM
UCF Lexus

Look who it is.....wudup Juanboogy?

Ha, I ran into the same problem, I just stuck it back on and said F it.
Shadow (jeff) shaved them...I havent seen many others who have
Old 05-05-2005, 07:21 PM

yep, mine were like that too and i still have that body line. you have a 4th gen too? hows the lowest maxima going? i guess just weld in all the little holes and 'fill her up'.
Old 05-05-2005, 10:00 PM

That is a goergous 3rd gen. But how on earth can you possibly drive it and not tear up the whole bottom? How do you drive up any sort of incline? Is it just for show? Airgbags?
Old 05-05-2005, 11:23 PM

Hmmm... I thought there isn't any indentations behind the moldings. So basically, from what you all have said, if you remove the moldings from the 4th gen, it'll have a similar indentation like the 3rd gen in the pic below??? That would definitely look different.

I've seen a white, slammed, Maxima in the org somewhere. If I remember correctly, the door handles and molds were shaved. Not really sure.
Old 05-05-2005, 11:51 PM
no more maxima...