Nitrous Discuss dry, wet, and direct port nitrous setups. How many shots can you handle?

Didn't think I was a N2O noob but...

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2004, 07:49 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Didn't think I was a N2O noob but...

Nitrous gurus, this is for you.

I did the most retarded thing I have ever done to this car.

I have a ZEX dry kit. The kit controls fuel compensation buy injecting nitrous into the vaccuum line to the FPR. OK. This I know. Great.

But I never once questioned putting in a Walbro 255 HIGH PRESSURE fuel pump in place of the original. To make matters worse, I have upgraded to 370cc injectors.

To those that don't know what I'm getting at might be asking why this is so bad. Well, the ZEX kit shoots nitrous into the vaccuum line to the FPR to effectively shut of return flow back to the tank. This in turn maxes out the fuel pressure in the rail. Normal OEM pumps max out at 50-60PSI IIRC.

Well, I sprayed a couple times tonight and I felt little to no difference in accelleration. So, in my infinite wisdom thought, "Oh yeah, I have this cute little fuel pressure gauge thingy... maybe that will tell me something." Well, I hit it again and the gauge read 107PSI!!!!!! 107psi with big injectors... At least I know I wasn't running lean. The ECU must have shortened the pulse widths so I didn't bog, flood out or hydrolock .

So. My question is, what can be done to only partially close the FPR when shooting N2O? Is there a specialized adjustable nitrous FPR that I can mount inline? Then I could modify the ZEX kit to not blow N2O into the vaccuum system. Make sense? Am I smoking crack?

Before you say it, I have my reasons for not going to a wet setup.

TIA.
D
Old 04-07-2004, 09:10 PM