Supercharged/Turbocharged The increase in air/fuel pressure above atmospheric pressure in the intake system caused by the action of a supercharger or turbocharger attached to an engine.

I need some faith from the gurus

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2003, 07:28 PM

I need some faith from the gurus

Hey guys, I have some boost questions for ya. I'm sorry if these have been asked before (I'm sure they already have) but I'm thinking of selling my max if I can't make some more power. I know boost is the answer, I just have some questions.

1. Turbo or SC - I want to make some real power. I'm sick of 14s. My car before the max was a grand national so I've been used to 12s. The car was cheap, upgrades were cheap and rewarding, and the anatomy of the car in general was exceedingly simple. I'm kind of new with the imports and I don't know as much about their drivetrains as I should. I want to make as much power as possible with the lowest cost and the greartest possibilities for future upgrades. With no sacrifice to reliability of course. Sounds impossible but hey

2. I have a 98 with an auto. Is it possible to make this work with the extra power with upgrading the VB and/or TC, or would it be wiser to switch to manual. Do the tranny conversions work out ok or...you know. I remember I had to really work my GN's tranny after my TA-49 upgrade ( I actually had to swap it altogether but hey, GM trannys like that are dirt cheap). I figure the same works here.