4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Make the horn honk on the factory anti-theft system

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2004, 01:01 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Make the horn honk on the factory anti-theft system

Alright for starters, my car is a 1996 5-speed SE.

Does anybody know how to wire up something so that the horn honks when the doors are locked on the factory security system, because by default only the turn signals flash. I don't know how to wire it so that the horn won't honk when I turn my turn signals on, but I didn't know if there was some roundabout way to do it. Thanks a lot guys!!

If so can you either link to a how to or post one, I have plenty of general car knowledge I just don't know how the factory anti-theft system is wired.

Also, sorry if this has already been posted but since the search function is disabled, I can't really do much. Thanks!!
Old 03-28-2004, 04:36 PM

Don't. That feature is damn annoying to everybody. Be glad yours doesn't honk when you lock it.
Old 03-28-2004, 06:04 PM

Alright I wasn't asking for input, I was asking for help........if you can't help me then there is no need to criticize what I'm trying to do, because that is about as counterproductive as possible.
Old 03-28-2004, 07:06 PM
acj

I think there is an article in the 4th Gen How-To sticky on how to make your alarm beep. There is also a write-up on this on vqpower.com. I did this mod on my car and it was pretty simple (i think only 2 wires). You should be able to use this to figure out which wires you need to use so you can wire up a horn.

But in doing it like this, it would probably honk twice....
Old 03-28-2004, 07:10 PM

can you get the horn to beep with a factory alarm if you dont have a remote? my gle has the alarm, but to arm the alarm, i have to turn the key on the drivers side. any way to do this?
Old 03-28-2004, 07:39 PM