4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

bunch of questions, new maxima owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2005, 02:20 AM

bunch of questions, new maxima owner

hi all!

as the title says i just got my maxima as my first car
63k miles on her, and in absolutely fantastic shape.

so, i have a ton of questions, the car is kinda my baby right now and i want it to last and be good to me.

as a note: im a car noob. i have zero skills with working on a car. i cant not change my own oil. so keep that im mind when answering.

im gunna number my questions, and if you guys could number your answers that would make matching question and answer easier. i thank you all in advance

1. anything i should know about this car that i might not?

2. my spedometer seems to be off. if it says im going about 81 or 82, and i run by one of those roas side speed signs that tells your speed in big numbers, it will say im doing 77 or 78.... idunno what the deal is with that... could it be off?

3. after i drive somewhere and park ill notice fluid on the ground comming from what looks like just to the right of where the radio is, but on the ground obviously. i cant see any color to it, so im assuming its from the A/C. should i get it checked out?

4. reading around a little i saw the maxima is known for a yaw movement. i notice a bit of understeer.. well kind of a lot actually. if i go into a corner fast i feel like the car is very heavy and pulls. it just feels loose. (im comparing this to my moms A6 quattro on 17" low profiles... so that might be the differance) would adding a rear sway bar help?(i read alittle about some mods) ideas? is it all in my head?

5. what are the easiest and cheapest mods i can do that will help looks/performance? if it resembles rice, it wont touch my car.

6. what kind of oil should i use? synthetic? the 15k mile stuff?