4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

ATTN: Daniel B. or other mechanics..help!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2000, 08:24 PM

I need help...it seems that once it got cold I am having trouble start my car. I would turn the key and there would be no sound. After 15 sec or so the car would start. What could possibly be the problem? This has been goin on for a while and today it did not start at all. I needed a jump. So I guess I should get a new battery? What should I look for in gettin a new battery and how do I install?
Old 12-07-2000, 08:35 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Sounds like the battery but I'm not an expert. When looking for a battery just try to get one with the most CCA (Cold Cranking Amps) you can afford... around 800 would be nice. =)

Chris
Old 12-07-2000, 08:55 PM

changing your battery should be easy...

just make sure you do not touch the poles of the battery...
autozone should have list of compatible battery
and of course you could try searching in the web for some awesome batts......they used to have hawker genesis floating around somewhere...I dunno if this still exist...
I might recall the name wrong....but that battery is small and light and have enough juice for our car...

http://www.hepi.com/

before you throw your battery...check its voltage...if it holds 12 volt then your battery is not dead....
maybe something else is not working right in your car...
anyhow...
good luck
Old 12-07-2000, 10:08 PM
Turtle turtle... Moderator

How old is your battery? 12.0V is no good for battery. 12.6V is a full charge so you should be looking for around 12.6V. You should also check your charging system voltage and parastic drain for possible causes.(if any) If you have a multimeter you should be able to do all of these tests.
Old 12-07-2000, 10:24 PM