5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Possible gains to be had, just need clearances from IM to Hood

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2016, 03:29 AM

Possible gains to be had, just need clearances from IM to Hood

Hi all fifth gens, im new to the fourm and i have a topic in eager to discus with another brand of car enthusiests. Im fresh of the acurazine fourm and they have tons of tech info on there. Anyway i was wondering what the stock hood to intake manifold clearance is on the 2000 se. Im interested in the topend you get from modding out plastic manifokds but would hate to lose some torque. I had a similar situation with my Acura CL, i loved the way my cai sounded but it didnt have the powee of the line it should have. So come to find out the Honda pilots use the same motor (in design anyway) as the acura, which means i can use parts of it. The pilot came stock with a almost 1.3 inch IM spacer to lenthen the runners , reduce heat soak, and ultimately shift the powerband lower and more useable torque on a daily is a good thing. I installed one on my acura with a thick thermal gasket and tge total height came to 1.5 inches of height. i had to cut some hood supports but not that many. Not only did i have my Tq back, it screamed at high rpms. After several WOT runs my manifold was COOL to the touch. Members have Dynoed up to 10tq and 10hp gains in the lower rpms with this part alone. My idea is to try this on the maxima i have to see if i can get similar gains. I will make a spacer if i can get the correct clearence from hood to manifold

Needed extra clearance
Old 04-10-2016, 03:48 AM
Bad *** Newb

That's why Aaron made the 5 pc. spacer kit for the 3.5s. 3.0 only needs a lower spacer and TB coolant bypass.
Old 04-10-2016, 04:00 AM

Originally Posted by Child_uv_KoRn
That's why Aaron made the 5 pc. spacer kit for the 3.5s. 3.0 only needs a lower spacer and TB coolant bypass.