Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

2K2 Max Steering Wheel Audio Controls

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2001, 12:16 PM

2K2 Max Steering Wheel Audio Controls

Hey, I'm a newbie, true, but I've scoured the forums to see if anyone has hacked the steering wheel audio controls on a 2002 to work with an aftermarket head unit. Has anyone done this yet? Probably a very custom, high $$$$ thing, but I thought I'd check.
If I can't get that done without spending a fortune, I want to get a high quality line-level converter and use the stock deck with my ampa and speakers
Old 10-30-2001, 02:44 PM
Very sound, Mike

Re: 2K2 Max Steering Wheel Audio Controls

A couple have done it here. There's a controller available at Crutchfield that retails for less than $100 that you can use but i know of anyone who was able to test it out.

If it work that will settle the audio controls but there doesn't seem to be any luck with making the trip computer buttons work after that

Originally posted by 2002 SE TX
Hey, I'm a newbie, true, but I've scoured the forums to see if anyone has hacked the steering wheel audio controls on a 2002 to work with an aftermarket head unit. Has anyone done this yet? Probably a very custom, high $$$$ thing, but I thought I'd check.
If I can't get that done without spending a fortune, I want to get a high quality line-level converter and use the stock deck with my ampa and speakers
Old 10-30-2001, 07:04 PM

model# is PACSW3, car toys said they could do it but b/c the packaging didn't say anything about 2002 model cars at all it would be safer to wait for one that does--they said they did it on a PT Cruiser and it caused a small fire under the dash--crutchfield does have a new one that mentions 2002 BMWs but not maxs i think the model# is PACSWI-X
Old 11-01-2001, 07:31 PM