General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Ever Plug your Z-Rated Tire after a Nail Puncture?

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2003, 12:17 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Never plug. Always patch.
Old 05-12-2003, 12:22 PM
Administrator

0w3nd by Zum Zum Zum
Old 05-12-2003, 12:36 PM
Custom User Title...

i'm new to knowing anything about tires...can you explain how patching works? i've gotten plugs on my old tires but not on my new wheels which i need to do, there are 3 screws in them are they too soft for plugs? someone mentioned something like that once.
Old 05-12-2003, 03:59 PM

when you plug the tire, dont you also put a patch on the backside too? so just leave out the plug or what
Old 05-12-2003, 05:24 PM
Former Sponsor

Originally posted by Nismo
when you plug the tire, dont you also put a patch on the backside too? so just leave out the plug or what
yup confusing me too

if I do patch/plug a tire I wont use it on the track anymore... just on the street yea?
Old 05-12-2003, 06:29 PM

Plugging a tire is an easy way to fix a hole when you're in the middle of nowhere... They sell $10 kits that contain a hook, rubber strips and some rubber glue. You stick the plug/strip with the hook while covered with glue in 1/2 way into the tire, pull it back out.. it plugs the hole.

It's better to patch the tire, which is taking it off the rim and filling the hole in and sanding the excess rubber of from inside the tire/etc. Plugging weakens the tire and really should only be used as a temp solution.
Old 05-12-2003, 07:15 PM

Never plug! By plugging, you're putting stress on the tire. On top of that, most plugs can't get a airtight seal. The tire flexes a lot while rotating and the plug will eventually work its way out.