4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

NOOBIES: "I AM NEW HERE BUT HAVE A QUESTION" thread. Read FIRST post BEFORE posting!

Old 11-26-2014, 08:06 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Starter not engaging flywheel.

Hi all,

I am new to these forums and have really enjoyed reading here so far.
I have a -95 maxima with manual transmission. I'm not very experienced with cars but since the car is so old and everything here in Sweden is so expensive I've decided not to tow the car to a mechanic....yet.

4 years ago, the starter was replaced after it died, and i got a used one installed at the local mechanic. Now, the last 4 weeks my maxima has been harder and harder to start, and one day it ended up with a "crank/no start" condition. When trying to crank it, finally it slowed down even more and I had a "no crank"-condition. WHen turning the key, I just heard the starter solenoid popping.

I checked the battery, which was ok. Also, jump starting did not work (due to limited space no possibilities to push start). Then I decided to remove my starter. I wired it to my battery and verified that the solenoid was working, but the starter itself was not turning. I went to a starter rebuilder who fixed it, and now both the starter and the solenoid are functioning normally.

I then rebuilt the starter into the car. When trying to connect the cables to the battery current was flowing and sparks flew between the battery and cables. Knowing that something was wrong, I checked on the starter again. I noticed that the mechanic had mixed up the wire to the starter from the solenoid and put it on the wrong bolt, whereby I of course cause a short circuit. Then I changed the wire to the starter, so that it is now on the right bolt.