4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

1998 Maxima runs only with starter fluid

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2024, 11:08 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

1998 Maxima runs only with starter fluid

Hey bros, I have a 1998 maxima (middle east spec so its similar to i30) from an auction, the car hasn't ran in a year (probably more. but one year since its been at the impound). I tried to start it but there's no fuel getting to the motor. I removed the small rubber pipe that connects to the fuel rails and there's fuel there. and I have replaced the fuel pump too. but the car cranks and doesn't start. There is no security so it isn't a key issue. and there's no OBD port for me to check for codes. do you guys reckon it has something to do with fuel rail/injector or is there some other issue/s. please any help is appreciated. I am a beginner and this is my first car. So trying to keep the cost as low as possible. The car starts up for couple of seconds as long as fluid is being sprayed. but dies after i stop spraying. So spark/coils isn't the issue.
Old 01-03-2024, 12:00 PM
Administrator

OBDII port is under the dash/steering column on the left side.

Curious, why did you post in the 5th gen forum and not the 4th gen? What country are you in?

I hate to ask the obvious, but are you sure you have enough gas?

Start by checking the fuel pump fuse. Same location as the OBDII port.

Are you sure you installed the new fuel pump correctly with regards to the pickup?
Old 01-03-2024, 12:49 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

my bad wrong post, meant to post in the 4th gen forum, but yes theres enough gas, and the fuel pump works as there is fuel going into the fuel rails when i remove the small pipe and turn the ignition on, and yes the fuse has been checked. I do not have OBD port in the vehicle. I am in United Arab Emirates. and i think we got security and OBD2 port in 1999.