6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

Nitrous Anyone?!

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2004, 06:10 AM

Nitrous Anyone?!

I've been thinking about different possible performance upgrades. Theres not a whole lot of options out there right now for the 04. The options that do exist, cold air intake, performance chip, new exhaust...etc, they all cost a ton of money and dont promise a very big return on performance to justify the price....at least in my opinion. So, this leads to my question, has anyone considered or already installed nitrous oxide in their 04 Max? I have never used it before so I definitely dont claim to know much about it. But, from what I do know, it theoretically promises the best bang for your buck, at least until someone makes a turbo for the 04. I'd love to hear others thoughts or ideas on this.
Old 06-10-2004, 08:56 AM
andymax95

already looking into a dry kit, keep you posted

Old 06-10-2004, 03:39 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Originally Posted by andymax95
already looking into a dry kit, keep you posted
What's a dry kit?
Old 06-10-2004, 03:48 PM
Banned

A dry nitrous system uses the stock fuel injectors to supply the additional fuel needed to keep the engine from running lean on nitrous. A wet system uses a fogger nozzle to inject the fuel in the same place as the nitrous. Both dry and wet systems have there ups and downs, but it seems that a dry system and safer for a 125hp or less, and a wet is safer for 150hp+. Downsides of a dry kit being you can't really tune the fuel, but you don't have to worry about spraying nitrous with out fuel because of the way a dry kit is designed, if there is nitrous the additional fuel IS flowing. No worrying about malfunctioning fuel solenoids etc. The trick to getting the dry system to be 100% safe is setting it up properly

that was copy and paste from internet
Old 06-10-2004, 06:14 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member