6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

'04 Maxima Rattles on start up????

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2012, 12:49 AM

'04 Maxima Rattles on start up????

I'M new to nissans and just bought an '04 SL 3.5 WITH 72,000 . I've had it a week and have notice when you start it up there is a rattle that sounds like its coming from the passenger side top rear of the engine. At first I thought it may be a pully bearing, but it sounds a bit high on the motor to be that, almost sounds like maybe a loose metal shroud of some sort, The sound goes away shortly after start up and all is fine. Turn the car off and restart it 10 min. later or so and it will do the samething. The car is extremly clean and seems to have been well cared for. Its going back to the dealer today for a look over. But I'm one of those people who won't sleep till I now what it might be. If did'nt know any better I'd think that the oil was taking to long to reach the top half of the motor. No lights on and car runs awsome. Any ideas would sure help ! Thanks..
Old 07-13-2012, 12:58 AM
oem ftw!

Your timing chain tensioner / guides need to be replaced. Common failure on our 6th gens, unfortunately. I'm starting to hear the rattle, which lasts for about one second immediately upon start up. But, I also need an oil change, so I'm sure that's not helping my cause much

Congrats on the purchase, and best of luck with the car. Read through the transmission fix thread at the top of our forum, and keep an eye on your transmission as well. When these cars are running properly, they sure are fun to drive. Welcome to the forums

Last edited by CRiME; 07-13-2012 at 01:00 AM.
Old 07-13-2012, 01:55 AM

^ What he said
Old 07-13-2012, 01:57 AM

Is this a major undertaking to be fixed, and can I still drive the car till I get it to the shop?
Old 07-13-2012, 02:13 AM
oem ftw!