5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

5th Gen "I AM NEW HERE BUT HAVE A QUESTION" thread

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2011, 06:10 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by quiksilver20004
p1800 is in relation to your VIAS control solenoid, small potatoes compared to the p0301 which is a #1 cylinder misfire.
I would start with a spark test first off then do a compression and cylinder leakdown test. When you pull the plug check it for carbon scoring and abnormal wear or color, also make sure that the plugs are the recommended plugs for your car with correct gap. Also if the plug is not an NGK plug then you need to get NGK plugs in there!

How would i do a spark test on the 1st cylinder? I have to pull the intake mani on my 3.5 to get to spark plug
Old 11-24-2011, 06:19 PM
No more Maximas...

Originally Posted by 2002_3.5se
Sorry i'm new to maximas, but no bubble on the coil pack, just took the intake mani off 2day replaced coil, still running rough. Only codes i have are P1800 and P0301, So now that the coil is replaced, what else should i look for and how do i find the problem, thanks for all the help. And i tryed searching and cant find the method to check codes without a tool?
Steps 1-4 here, then read the codes: http://forums.maxima.org/5th-generat...ease-help.html

Thanks for info, i'm going to pull intake mani again tomarro and look. Just a fyi all the coil packs have a grey dot so there "updated". Another question .is can it be the fuel injector? i had a misfire couple of years ago on a tahoe and had to replace entire fuel delivry system. Because i was readig and if its the coil usally it's a P1320 code plus a P0301 correct? but thanks for the advise and help so much.
Yes, it could be the injector also. No, a P1320 isn't required for a coil to be bad (nor does a P1320 mean there's a dead coil).