3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

*NOOBIES* The "I am new here,but have a question" thread..(post your questions here)

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2010, 06:43 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Headlights work, taillights dont, blinkers dont work not even emergency(you can hear it blink real fast but nothing on the exterior), dash lights all work, fuel guage works sometimes, interior lamps work, door locks and windows work, auto seatbelts work. But yeah no power to fuel pump relay. And no cel lights at all from ecu.

I was just looking at the ground cable from the battery because everyone talks about grounds to the ecu. The ground cable from the batt only connects to the motor. There is a eye half way down the cable.... i assume that would bolt on to the body. Would this cause problems? I mean half the car still powers up without it connected to the body. Im not a total noob just never dealt with a ecu problem before.

The ecu fuse is ok tested it with a continuity tester

Last edited by jeramie78; 12-10-2010 at 06:46 PM.
Old 12-10-2010, 08:00 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by BenStoked
you have a timing chain, not belt, so it's not as likely to break (but possible) (one of the features of the ve30de is that chain, vs my vg30e which most 3rd gens have).
I believe they are interference (90% sure).
any weird noises when it shut down?
yeah there was a loud noise like metal rubbing together, which I assume isn't very good
Old 12-10-2010, 08:02 PM
Jesus was a Zombie.

Originally Posted by Travass66
yeah there was a loud noise like metal rubbing together, which I assume isn't very good
ouch... you may be looking for a couple of new complete heads, or a new engine...
Old 12-11-2010, 06:42 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by BenStoked
ouch... you may be looking for a couple of new complete heads, or a new engine...