5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

5th Gen "I AM NEW HERE BUT HAVE A QUESTION" thread

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2008, 01:20 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

3.5l with 6spd swap for 2000 maxima

I own a 2000 maxima with the vq30 3.0l 5spd manual. i have restored the entire car to perfection but the engine/transmission has 190000kms and isnt fun to drive anymore. I am a mechanic and am capable of doing this swap but would like to have some advice / step by step guidance from someone who has done this before.

Basically i want to put the newest and best engine I can, in this car. So i figure go with the 3.5l 6spd
Old 09-01-2008, 01:36 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

from what i have heard the stock downpipe or ypipe on the vq30 engines are very restricting. when i put my header back exhaust i noticed a nice increase in hp
Old 09-01-2008, 01:41 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

3.5l with 6spd swap for 2000 maxima

I have a 2000 maxima with the vq30 3.0l with 5spd manual.
I want to swap a 3.5l with the 6spd manual. can somone reffer me to a swap guide
Old 09-01-2008, 01:52 PM

Originally Posted by phillymd00
That's exactly what it does... Shizzle. I'm about to get hosed by the stealership. Any suggestions?
It's a pretty involved job. Are you mechanically inclined and have tools?
Old 09-01-2008, 06:37 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by VQP0WER
yes im a mechanic by trade. i work on hd trucks right now. but i worked on cars my whole life. i have a full tool box down to an ob2 scanner. air tools everything. I would just like an opinion/ideas. basically i want to know what engine i should swap in. I want to have the baddest 00' maxi in town. i could get a brand new 03' vq35 off ebay for 1300
Old 09-01-2008, 06:37 PM

Grease Everywhere, can you help a Noob out?